Obama: “Yo necesito clases españolas”

The Pres and First Lady marked their presidency’s first Cinco de Mayo.  Not with much pizzaz or on the right day, but marked it nonetheless.

In pre-celebration, FLOTUS visited the Latin American Montessori Bilingual Public Charter School in DC on May 4.  She watched the children perform, said a few words, and took questions from the students and teachers.  Michelle was asked if she’s ever tried Mexican food.  (Uh, who HASN’T?)  Her response: “Oh, let me tell you, Mexican food is my favorite food in the whole wide world. I think I’m on record.  Ooh, what do I love? I love — Oh, I love tortillas. I love tamales.  I love beans and rice. I love mole. I love all the mole sauces, I love beef and lamb and quesadillas. I mean, you name it. The question is, what don’t I like? I love it all.”  ‘Nuf said.

(Getty Images)

(Getty Images)

Later in the day, Obama invited guests to the White House to celebrate.  In his opening, the typically rico-suave prez actually stumbled over his words.  He’s human!!!!!  In his remarks, Obama said “Welcome to Cinco de Cuatro.”  This will likely be the only slip-up Obama endures for his time as president.

THIS is the party?  (Ap Photo/Gerald Herbert)

THIS is the party? (Ap Photo/Gerald Herbert)

Leave a Reply

